top of page

         RSC/BMOS Young Investigator was established in the year 2013 and since then, BMOS has featured the award in all its editions in the years of 2015, 2018 and 2022. Since the award was established the RSC/BMOS Young Investigator has been selecting and awarding important scientists from Brazil, Latin America and the United Kingdom. To date, 18 researchers have received this honor during BMOS events.

         Since 2022 the award is called the RSC/BMOS Early Career Investigator Award. The renaming makes the award more inclusive, up-to-date, and consistent with the fundamentals of the RSC and our scientific community.

How to nominate:

           RSC, UK Government and BMOS are delighted to invite scientists from Brazil, Latin America and the UK to submit their applications.

     Self-nomination is permitted. Nominators must send the following to the organizing committee via by Friday, 14th June 2024.

  • Contact details and website URL of the nominee or CV Lattes URL of the nominee.

  • A one-page CV for the nominee, including a summary of their education, dates of key career achievements, a list of up to five of their top independent publications, total numbers of publications and patents, and other indicators of esteem, together with evidence of career independence.

  • A PDF of the candidate’s best publication to date (as judged by the nominator).

  • A one-page motivation letter, explaining way this nomination and presentation will make a difference in the development of the career (including networking, exposure, and engagement) 


          Incomplete nominations or those not adhering to the above requirements will not be considered, and nominees will not be contacted regarding any missing or incorrect documents.

          Important: Applicants who have completed their doctorate within the last ten years are eligible. In case of maternity leave this period can be extended up to 12 months.

        OBS. BMOS organizers expect from the selected candidates to take part of the entire event, including poster sections, helping to judge the best posters awards, as well.

Selection procedure:

         The BMOS organizing committee will screen each nomination for eligibility and draw up a shortlist of candidates based on the nomination documents provided. The committee will consider the following:

  • Emphasis on great science, not just top professors; this includes teams, technicians and multidisciplinary collaborations.

  • Give greater recognition to the people who teach chemistry and inspire the amazing scientists of the future

  • Showcase leaders, regardless of their normal job or role, who go above and beyond to break down barriers in the chemical sciences and open up new and extraordinary opportunities in science.

  • Celebrate the scientific breakthroughs that transform our understanding of the world and solve major issues like climate change, health etc.

  • Set conduct expectations and revoke prizes when those expectations are not met


         The recipient of the lectureship will then be selected and endorsed by a selection panel composed of members of the Scientific Committee and BMOS organizing committee Board as well as members of the Royal Society of Chemistry.


        The winners will be announced until the end of June 2024.

       The selected researchers will receive support from the RSC for their respective, accommodation, and travel to the event in Bento Gonçalves.

        Registration will be waived to the selected researchers as a contribution from the BMOS organizers.

       The selected researchers will participate in the RSC BMOS Early Career Investigator Award ceremony and Flash presentations during the BMOS event. The presentation time for each selected candidate will be announced during the process. RSC and BMOS expect to have the winner’s collaboration to use their image and name, to enable promoting the prize afterwards, in social media and other related marketing tools. 

     Dr. Elizabeth Magalhães, Manager of the RSC in Latin America, will be responsible for coordinating the implementation of the award.


RSC/BMOS  Early Career Investigator (Former Young Investigator)
revious Winners

RSC/BMOS Young Investigator 2022 Winners:


Dr Clare S. Mahon, Durham University, UK

Professora Dra. Fernanda A. Rosa, State University of Maringá, Brazil,

Professora Dra. Clarissa Piccinin Frizzo, UFSM, Brazil

Dr. Alastair Lennox, University of Bristol, UK


RSC/BMOS Young Investigator 2018 Winners:

Dr Andrew L. Lawrence, University of Edinburgh, UK
Professor Diogo S. Lüdtke, Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil,
Professor Giovanni W. Amarante, Federal University of Juiz de Fora, Brazil
Dr. Stephen P. Thomas, University of Edinburgh, UK

​RSC/BMOS Young Investigator 2015 Winners:

Professor Eufrânio N. da Silva Júnior, Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil
Professor Giuliano C. Clososki, University of São Paulo, Brazil
Dr. Vanessa Leiria Campo, U
niversity of São Paulo, Brazil
​Dr. James Bull, Imperial College London, UK
Dr. Will Unsworth, University of York, UK

RSC/BMOS Young Investigator 2013 Winners:

Professor Antonio C. B. Burtoloso, University of São Paulo, Brazil
Professor Ariel M. Sarotti, IQUIR-CONICET, Argentina
Professor Brenno A. D. Neto, University of Brasilia, Brazil
Professor Gonçalo Bernardes, University of Cambridge, UK
Professor John Bower, University of Bristol, UK

Sem título.jpg
bottom of page